Safety Committee

The function of this Committee is to (1) formulate and implement the Association’s policies in the area of safety.  Review and assess safety legislation and regulations impacting construction, provide safety consultation and assistance to members upon request, and make recommendations to the Board of Directors.  (2) To track OSHA regulatory changes to published standards, and to develop and propose any legislation necessary to preserve health and safety in the best interest of our industry.  (3) Provide direction and guidance to staff in implementing and evaluating the programs recommended by the committee. (4) Study and develop ways and means of promoting accident prevention, loss and damage control, equipment theft protection and safety in the construction industry in Illinois.  (5) Stimulate interest in accident prevention by encouraging participation in the Association’s Safety Programs.  (6) Develop programs and services to inform membership regarding compliance with safety requirement.  (7) Evaluate and recommend rules under which the Association’s Safety Awards Program operates.  Also, to champion AGCI’s program so members have an avenue to compare their safety statistics with other member companies that perform similar types of construction.  (8) To establish an off-season safety and health training program for contractors, supervisors, foremen and workers.  (9) To provide a quick reference for our members by using such tools as videos, manuals or other documents necessary to train, educate or reduce the risk of injury to contractor employees.  (10) To provide current, timely information and share lessons learned.


Shawn Meier, Chair

Civil Constructors

Bill Halsey

Petersburg Plumbing

Holly Bailey

Howell Paving



Tom Heuer

Halverson Construction

Dan Bembower

USI Midwest

Nick Hutchings

Feutz Contractors

Matt Bennett

J.L. Hubbard Insurance & Bonds

Scott Ketcham

United Contractors Midwest

Ryan Birney

McCarthy Improvement

Mike Long

Penhall Company

James W. Bruner

United Contractors Midwest

Rob McMahan

Vulcan Materials

Kyle Carson

E.T. Simonds Construction

Eric Reuther

Illini Drilling Foundations

Wayne Clayton

Stark Excavating

Donna Said

McCarthy Improvement

Phil Czernik

Kankakee Valley Construction

Doug Wilson

N.E. Finch Co.


Industry Watch

EPA Back Tracks on Previous Delay of 2015 Ozone Standard

BGC Report Shows Continuing Problems with Multiemployer Pension Plans

Trump Administration Releases New Details on Regulatory Agenda